Marc-André Bédard, Ad.E., retired lawyer

« The future is in the hands of those who will be able to provide valid reasons for living and hoping to future generations. »
Pierre Teilhard de Chardin

Admitted to the Quebec Bar in 1960, Marc-André Bédard practiced his profession until his election to the Quebec National Assembly as the member for Chicoutimi in 1973.

In 1976, he was appointed Minister of Justice, Attorney General, and Solicitor in the first cabinet formed by the Honourable René Lévesque. He also assumed the chairmanship of the Quebec Government's Legislation Committee.

As Minister of Justice in the Quebec Government, Marc-André Bédard presided over the creation of the Judicial Council and established a new way of appointing judges. He also introduced significant amendments to the Quebec Charter of Rights and Freedoms regarding sexual orientation, disability programs, and equal opportunity. He tabled a law in the National Assembly establishing a new Civil Code for Quebec that reformed family law and confirmed the equality of spouses under the law.

Mr. Bédard was responsible for the passing of several other laws, and also served as leader and Deputy Prime Minister of the province.

Marc-André Bédard was awarded the Fight Against Homophobia award by Fondation Emergence du Quebec. He also received the Medal of Merit from the Saguenay—Lac-Saint-Jean Bar Association, and in 2007 he was awarded the title of Lawyer Emeritus by the Quebec Bar.

In a special publication commemorating its 50th anniversary in 2010, Chatelaine magazine recognized his contribution to the advancement of laws concerning women's rights in Quebec.

In 2013 he was made an officer of Ordre National du Québec for his impressive professional career and social advocacy.

Contact by email

Admitted to the Bar in
1960


Qualifications

Licenciate in Law

Me Marc-André Bédard, avocat à la retraite

« L'avenir est entre les mains de ceux et celles qui pourront procurer aux générations de demain des motifs valables de vivre et d'espérer »
Pierre Teilhard de Chardin

Admis au Barreau du Québec en 1960, Me Marc-André Bédard exerce sa profession jusqu'à son élection à l'Assemblée nationale du Québec comme député de Chicoutimi en 1973.

En 1976, il est nommé ministre de la Justice, procureur et solliciteur général au sein du premier cabinet formé par l'honorable René Lévesque. Il assumera également la présidence du Comité de législation du gouvernement du Québec.

À titre de ministre de la Justice du gouvernement du Québec, Me Marc-André Bédard préside à la création du Conseil de la magistrature et instaure un nouveau mode de nomination des juges. Il fait adopter des amendements importants à la Charte des droits et libertés du Québec, concernant l'orientation sexuelle, le handicap et les programmes d'accès à l'égalité. Il est l'initiateur à l'Assemblée nationale de la loi instituant un nouveau code civil du Québec portant réforme du droit de la famille et fait adopter la réforme du droit de la famille consacrant l'égalité des conjoints devant la loi.

À l'origine de plusieurs autres législations, Me Marc-André Bédard a aussi occupé les postes de leader du gouvernement et vice-premier ministre du Québec.

Me Bédard est récipiendaire du prix « Lutte contre l'homophobie » décerné par la Fondation Émergence du Québec. Me Bédard a reçu la médaille du mérite du Barreau du Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean et en 2007, on lui décerne la distinction d'avocat émérite du Barreau du Québec.

Dans un numéro soulignant son cinquantième anniversaire en 2010, la revue Châtelaine reconnaît sa contribution à l'évolution des lois concernant les droits des femmes au Québec.

En 2013, il a reçu le titre d’officier de l’ordre National du Québec pour son impressionnant parcours professionnel et social.

Contactez par courriel

Admission au Barreau
1960


Diplôme

Licence en droit